What city in India changed its name?

Chennai (Tamil: சென்னை), from Madras, renamed in 1996. Kolkata (Bengali: কলকাতা), from Calcutta, respelled in 2001. Kadapa (Telugu: కడప), from Cuddapah, respelled in 2005. Puducherry (Tamil: புதுச்சேரி), from Pondicherry, renamed in 2006.

What cities have changed names?


  • Bangalore to Bengaluru, originally called Bendakalooru.
  • Dharwar to Dharwad, originally called dwarawata.
  • Mangalore to Mangaluru, originally called Mangalooru.
  • Mysore to Mysuru, originally called Mahishasooru.
  • Hubli to Hubballi, originally called Hoobhalli.
  • Tumkur to Tumakuru.

How many cities names changed in India?

Indian Cities Renamed Multiple Times

Since independence, over a 100 cities and towns in the country have been renamed or respelled.

Why did Bombay change name?

In the mid-1990s, Shiv Sena, the Hindu nationalist party in power in Bombay, decided to change the city’s name to Mumbai, a name often used in local languages that derives from Mumba Devi, the patron Hindu goddess of the island’s original residents, the Koli fishermen.

Why was Bombay changed to Mumbai?

When the right-wing Hindu nationalist party Shiv Sena came to power they ordered the name change. This was because Bombay was associated with the British Raj or Empire – and it was viewed it has a unwanted legacy of the colonial period.

THIS IS FUN:  Is it good to do MBA in Bangalore University?

When did name change in Mumbai?

The Government of India officially changed the English name to Mumbai in November 1995. This came at the insistence of the Marathi nationalist Shiv Sena party, which had just won the Maharashtra state elections, and mirrored similar name changes across the country and particularly in Maharashtra.

What is the new name of Bangalore?

The government of Karnataka accepted the proposal, and it was decided to officially implement the name change from 1 November 2006. The Union government approved this request, along with name changes for 11 other Karnataka cities, in October 2014, hence Bangalore was renamed to “Bengaluru” on 1 November 2014.

What is the new name of Trivandrum?

Changed Name (in India)

Old Name New Name
Trivandrum Thiruvananthapuram
Quilon Kollam
Aleppey Alappuzha
Cochin Kochi

What is the new name of Pune?

The only divergent naming was when Mughal emperor Aurangzeb renamed the city Muhiyabad some time between 1703 and 1705 in memory of his great-grandson Muhi-ul-Milan, who died there. But the name was erased soon after Aurangzeb’s death. It became Poona in English during British rule in 1857 and changed to Pune in 1978.

What is the new name of Gurgaon?

GURUGRAM: The BJP government in the state had formally renamed Gurgaon district to Gurugram in November 2016, but this change has not reflected in the records of Election Commission of India (ECI).

Who changed Madras to Chennai?

Chennai was previously called Madras. Madras was the shortened name of the fishing village Madraspatnam, where the British East India Company built a fort and factory (trading post) in 1639–40. Tamil Nadu officially changed the name of the city to Chennai in 1996.

THIS IS FUN:  How can I register for best dancer in India?

What is the old name of Chennai?

Chennai, originally known as Madras Patnam, was located in the province of Tondaimandalam, an area lying between Pennar river of Nellore and the Pennar river of Cuddalore. The capital of the province was Kancheepuram.

What is the new name of Kolkata?

In 2001 the government of West Bengal officially changed the name of the city to Kolkata.

What is India’s full name?

Formal Name: Republic of India (The official, Sanskrit name for India is Bharat, the name of the legendary king in the Mahabharata). Short Form: India.

What is the 5 name of India?

India is known by many names – Jambudweepa, Al-Hind, Hindustan, Tenjiku, Aryavarta, and Bharat.

What is the new name of Allahabad?

Although initially named Ilahabad the name later became Allahabad in an anglicized version in Roman script. In 2018 the name of the city was changed to Prayagraj by the State government ruled by Yogi Adhityanath.