How does administration work in India?

Indian administration is accountable to the people of India. The main function is to act in accordance with objectives laid down in Preamble of the constitution, DPSP, FR. To secure all its citizens’ liberty, equality and fraternity.

What is the administration in India?

India is a Sovereign Socialist Secular Democratic Republic with a Parliamentary form of government which is federal in structure with unitary features. There is a Council of Ministers with the Prime Minster as its head to advice the President who is the constitutional head of the country.

How India is divided administratively?

India is a large country comprising of 28 states and 7 union territories. These states and the union territories are divided into districts. At the time of Census 2001 there were in all 593 districts against 467 districts at the time of 1991 Census.

Who does administration of entire India?

Government of India

Head of state President Ramnath Kovind
Head of government Prime Minister Narendra Modi
Main organ Cabinet
Head of civil services Cabinet secretary (Rajiv Gauba, IAS)
THIS IS FUN:  What happens when husband dies in India?

What are the features of Indian administration?

Modern Features of the Indian Administration

  • DEMOCRATIC DECENTRALISATION- Decentralization means the transfer of powers from an upper level to a lower level. …
  • INDEPENDENT JUDICIARY- Features of Indian Administration. …

How many types of administration are there in India?

Currently, there are a total of 102 divisions in India.

What type of government does India have 2021?

The government of the Republic of India is based on a constitution adopted in 1950. It has features similar to the government of the United States and to the British parliamentary system.

What are the 7 territories?

India has seven Union territories. Name them.

  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands.
  • Chandigarh.
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli.
  • Daman and Diu.
  • Delhi (National Capital Territory)
  • Lakshadweep.
  • Puducherry.

What are 8 union territories of India?

Union Territories of India

  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands.
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.
  • Chandigarh.
  • Lakshadweep.
  • Puducherry.
  • Delhi.
  • Ladakh.
  • Jammu and Kashmir.

How many zones are in India?

Looking at the zonal map of India, you can check that India is divided into six zones namely North Zone, South Zone, East Zone, West Zone, Central Zone and North East Zone. All these zones include 28 states and 8 union territories. Each zone is comprised of certain number of states and union territories.

Which was the largest administrative post in Indian districts?

As District Collector

The Deputy Commissioner is the highest Officer of revenue administration in the district.

Who appoints the prime minister of India?

The Prime Minister shall be appointed by the President and the other Ministers shall be appointed by the President on the advice of the Prime Minister.

THIS IS FUN:  Which is known as Old Delhi?

What are three levels of government in India?

It is seated in New Delhi, the capital of India. The government comprises three branches: the executive, the legislative and the judiciary.

What is basic feature of administration?

Basic Functions of Administration: Planning, Organizing, Directing and Controlling. After reading this chapter, you will be conversant with: Planning. Organization.

Who is called the father of public administration in India?

Paul H. Appleby is the father of Indian Public Administration.

What do you mean administration?

Administration is defined as the act of managing duties, responsibilities, or rules. … (uncountable) The act of administering; government of public affairs; the service rendered, or duties assumed, in conducting affairs; the conducting of any office or employment; direction.