What are the different sources of Hindu law?

Shrutis are considered to be the major source of Hindu law. Another term for Shruti is Veda. according to Hindu law, there are four Vedas namely, Rigveda, Samveda, Yajurveda, Atharveda.

How many sources of Hindu law are there?

So according to the traditional source of Hindu law, there are 4 sources of Hindu law, which are as follows: Shruti (Vedas) Smrities. Digest and commentaries.

What are the three sources of Hindu law?

The Shrutis mainly vedas, the smritis and the sadachara are considered as the three sources of Dharma and the Hindu law.

What is the first source of Hindu law?

The primary and important source of Hindu law is Vedas. According to tradition the Vedas also called Shruti. Shruti means what is heard by the Sages (Rishis). The Vedas are the fountain-head of Hindu religion and law.

THIS IS FUN:  Your question: How far is Mexico from India?

What are the two types of Hindu law?

The two major schools of Hindu law are as follows:

Mitakshara and Dayabhaga are the two important schools of Hindu Law which have given us the required information about the present legislated laws.

What are the main sources of law?

The main sources of law in India are: 1. The Constitution 2. Statutes 3. Customary law 4. Judicial decisions of superior courts.

  • The Constitution.
  • Statutes.
  • Customary law.
  • Judicial decisions of superior courts.

What are the sources of law in ancient India?

Sources of classical Hindu law. The sources of law during this period were Sruti, Smriti and acharas (customs). Sruti consist of the 4 Vedas namely Rigveda, Yajurveda, Samaveda and Atharvaveda. These Vedas chiefly dealt with religious duties, practices and customs.

What are the various sources of Hindu law discuss the importance of customs as source of Hindu law?

Sources of Hindu law are divided into two categories namely ancient sources and modern sources. Ancient sources of Hindu law include shruti, smriti, commentaries digests, and customs and usages. Modern sources include judgements and precedents, legislation, justice, equity and good conscience.

What are the ancient and modern sources of Hindu law?

The most important commentaries are Manunhashya, Manutika and Mitakshra and the most prominent digest is jimutvahan’s Dayabhaga that applied in Orissa and Bengal. Mitakshara is one of well known and supreme source of law in India. Mitaksara and Dayabhaga are two main sources of Hindu law in India.

What is the importance of sources of Hindu law?

Hindu law is considered to be of divine origin. It proceeds on the theory that Hindu law was revealed to the sages who had attained great spiritual heights and they were in communication with supreme power i.e. God. According to Hindu jurists, law is the enforceable part of Dharma.

THIS IS FUN:  Your question: Who is Jasmine in Once Upon a Time in Mumbai?

What is the modern source of Hindu law?

In the end, a series of four major pieces of personal law legislation were passed in 1955-56 and these laws form the first point of reference for modern Hindu law: Hindu Marriage Act (1955), Hindu Succession Act (1956), Hindu Minority and Guardianship Act (1956), and Hindu Adoptions and Maintenance Act (1956).

What are the different schools of Hindu law What are differences between them?

Mitakshara is an orthodox School whereas the Dayabhaga is Reformist School. The Mitakshara and Dayabhaga Schools differed on important issues as regards the rules of inheritance. However, this branch of the law is now codified by the Hindu Succession Act, 1956, which has dissolved the differences between the two.

What are the differences between two schools of Hindu law?

The Dayabhaga School of law is observed in Bengal and Assam. In all others, part of India, the Mitakshara School of law is observed. The Mitakshara School of Law is sub-divided into the Banaras, Mithila, Maharashtra and Dravida or Madras schools. These law schools come under the ambit of Mitakshara law school.